Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

==Transmission Lines Open==

agentsof

Okay I have had a day to process this and think long and hard about Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

If you don’t know what I am talking about you have been living under a rock for the last 6 months.  They have promoted the hell out of this show.  It paid off as the ratings were huge for the show.  However the bigger question is did it really live up to all the hype?

On a scale of 1 to 10…1 being the M. Night Shyamalan’s Last Air Bender adaptation, and 10 being The Empire Strikes back.

I will have to put this at a solid 6.

Don’t get me wrong I am a avid lover of Joss Whedon and his many works (Alien Resurrection did pave the way for Firefly…horrible movie but the foundation of an outlaw crew with intriguing characters was there).  However the show was good…not the great “nerd’ hope we have been waiting for.  In fact as far as a Pilot is concerned it was good.  I can honestly say the same can be said for his other works like season one of Buffy, season one of Angel, and even season one of Dollhouse(Which ended on a high note making me really look forward to 3-4 more seasons of that show instead of just one).

It was fun, quirky, had Whedon Wit, set the tone of the show, and over all I was left feeling good about it.  Seeing Gregg Clark return as Agent Coulson makes me happy. Very very Happy.  Over the course of the Marvel Movie Universe having him be that bridge, our window as it were into this world is great.  He continued to be the Agent Coulson we know and love.  However I can’t wait to see more of him in the same vein as the Short “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Thor’s Hammer…”, in that he showed why he is an Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. I mean he kicked ass in that little short. I want to see more of that from him in this show.  What I don’t want is every ass kicking moment to be hogged by Agent Ward or the reluctant Agent May.

Speaking of Agent May…MING NA!!! WOO! I love her, always have and always will.  Very happy to have her in the show, and looking forward to getting more of her back story which I hope is not the cliché “I was a field agent, got my whole team/partner killed…I will never again be responsible for another person blah blah blah.” I hope the Whedon Brain Trust will come up with a more intriguing back story.

I personally liked the characters of Fitz and Simmons.  They look like they could be fun.

However I was disappointed in a few things.

Over all the idea of a origin story for a new superhero or a already established hero (like I dunno Rage might have been nice) would have been a better way to go.  I get grounding the show in the Movie universe, so making him an Extremis candidate is a little disappointing. I was really hoping for them to start looking to tap into the well spring that is the Marvel Universe…Heck if at the end he put on multi-colored tights and called himself Captain Ultra I would have been happier.

capultra

Yes…he really is a character in the Marvel Universe!

==RANT MODE ON==

SERIOUSLY ARGH!!!! EXTERMIS!!!! BLARG!!!! There is weaving in and around the movies and then there is just plain old laziness.  GIVE ME A DAMN MARVEL HERO!!!! I would have taken Squirrel Girl over what we got…oh and I know Iron Man 3 out on Blu-Ray…plug plug plug…GAH!!!! FFGGET!!!!

==RANT MORE OFF==

Agent Ward thus far is a let down.  Sure he had a comedic moment with his “Grammy” comment, and I am sure there will be a bit of chemistry between him and Skye. However thus far he is nothing more than your average “Daniel Craig James Bond-ish, Chip on his Shoulder, I work better alone” guy.  I would have perfered a little more than that, just a small bit more to make him more interesting. Which is my hopes that we will get that.  However as of the pilot…Agent Grant is uninspired.

Speaking of Skye…she better have a technopathic kind of super power…or her I can hack your shit better than anyone will become old hat.  She is thus far flat…I want a character like Claudia from Warehouse 13.  If she develops that way then I will be a happy and satisfied camper. I trust Joss and Company to write a good and solid female character and if Skye is supposed to be that character then they need to get cracking and turn her into something more than the current sum of her parts.

Fitz and Simmons, while I previously said I like them and they could be fun, I also recognize their introduction was rushed and other than them being hyper-smart young geeks again that is about it. They will either be fun or just blasé background techno-babble characters.

So at this point you might be wondering…”But Wes…this is the first episode more will come!”  And if this were any other show I would agree with you.  This isn’t any other show. This is a Joss Whedon show.  Let me step back and offer why I am being overly critical like I am at this pilot.

In the actual pilot of Firefly, we are not only introduced to the Crew of the ship Serenity, we know who they are. We get a good base understand of the series regulars.  By the end of the episode we are if not in love with them all we certainly want a 2nd date, or will be willing to go to 3rd base at the end of the show.  At this point I don’t have that feeling for any of the characters expect Coulson and well we have had a slew of movies to get know and love him.  I expect more and will wait for that to happen and I will keep giving the show a chance until they don’t deserve it.  However I am not going to lie…they have a few hurdles to jump if they even want to touch the CW’s Arrow…that show is bad ass…and I am a Marvel fan!

So again…6 outta 10 “I couldn’t Help myself that corner was so dark, I just had to…”

==End of Line==

~ by lyoncage on September 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
